Maryland Vehicle Safety Inspection
Hollenshade’s Auto Service is an authorized inspection station for class ‘A’ vehicles being registered in the state of Maryland. We offer vehicle safety inspections on weekdays by appointment only. If you are looking for more information about Maryland state vehicle inspections, please check out the links below.
Obtaining an Inspection Certificate in Maryland
The Automotive Safety Enforcement Division (ASED) is part of the MD State Police. This division serves the interest of public safety though its oversight of vehicle inspections. ASED ensures vehicles comply with applicable laws, ordinances, and regulations. Stakeholders in Maryland’s vehicle inspection program include owners, dealers, and their agents.
To pass inspection, you must take your vehicle to an authorized safety inspection station (1,600 across the state). Click here to find a local inspection station.
When to Have Your Vehicle Inspected
In Maryland, you need to have your vehicle inspected if:
- You have recently moved to the state and your car is registered elsewhere
- You have purchased/received a used vehicle
You have 60 days after moving to Maryland to register your vehicle, and your car needs to pass inspection before it can be registered.
What the Maryland Safety Inspection Includes
The purpose of Maryland inspections is to make sure your car is safe to drive for yourself, your passengers, and other drivers. Inspections usually take 1-2 hours, depending on condition of your vehicle. Crucial components like brakes, lights, steering system, safety belts, exhaust will be checked. Click here for a full list of parts that will be inspected.
If your vehicle passes inspection, you will receive a certificate. If your vehicle fails, you will receive a report detailing issues. Your pass or fail notice is automatically submitted to the DMV. You do not need to have repairs performed at the inspection station and can have your Maryland local mechanic fix any issues.
Initial fees vary according to your station’s labor rates. Fees must be displayed prominently at each station. Re-inspection fees also vary according to labor rates.
Re-inspection fees should not be charged if the repair can be visually confirmed (ex. a headlight that needs to be changed). Re-inspection fees for non-visual defects may be as high as 1 ½ the hourly labor rate. Ask about re-inspection fees before leaving the station.
Still don’t see the answer to your question? Contact us with this form HERE and one of our team members will help.
Test Drive Inspection
SPEEDOMETER / ODOMETER
TURN SIGNAL / SELF-CANCEL
Interior Inspection Items
INDICATOR & WARNING LIGHTS
INTERIOR REAR-VIEW MIRROR
DRIVER’S WINDOW OPERATION
BRAKE PEDAL, LEAKAGE & RESERVE
HORN FUNCTION / SWITCH
AUTO TRANS GEAR INDICATOR
A/T NEUTRAL SAFETY SWITCH
SWITCHES – WIPERS & LIGHTS
Exterior Inspection Items
FOG / DRIVING LIGHTS
DOORS, LATCHES & HANDLES
FENDERS AND FLAPS
FUEL TANK CAP
BUMPERS / REAR FRAME
TAILPIPE EXIT LOCATION
Under Hood Inspection Items
BULKHEAD / FIREWALL
Under Vehicle Inspection Items
FLOOR & BODY MOUNTINGS
CV & UNIVERSAL JOINTS / DRIVESHAFTS